*Short post alert!!*

If it isn’t evident from the posts just before this one, I love my family. I don’t tell them as often as I should, but without a doubt, I love my parents and my siblings. The strength of the bond we have is in part because growing up, we didn’t really get to associate with our extended family a lot. We were close to a few of our cousins, but considering how large both sides of my family are, it was a paltry number in comparison. This was how my dad wanted things, and while I respect his perspective and I kinda understand why he preferred his family life that way, I don’t agree with it.

One of the more inevitable things about life is growth, and with a family, one of the indications of growth is the increase in numbers. With my last sibling’s wedding earlier this year, I now have two brothers-in-law and one sister-in-law. I also now have two nieces and one nephew. Pretty much, by marriage and blood, six people (and counting) have been added to my “immediate” family. Even the fact that we’re scattered all over the world – Lajorins in Australia, Sawyerrs and Ofilis in Lagos, and then me, in San Francisco – is to me another sign of growth.

Ultimately though, why I’m really happy about my siblings getting married, is that I know they’ve found people who love them probably more than I do. They’ve found people who know them in ways even I don’t/can’t, and still choose to love them. And to me, that’s extremely powerful and really beautiful. Dimeji, Juliet and Ogo have filled spots in the lives of people I love that I could never hope to fill, and for that, I’m grateful.

So, today, I’m thankful for my new family: for siblings-in-law, nieces, and a nephew; and all the love they bring.

