I realize I’m 2 days behind, and I’m really sorry. The last 48 hours were INSANE! To put it as succinctly as possible, concerning the trip I’m about to embark on in a few hours, I went from mildly concerned -> bothered -> alarmed -> despondent -> frustrated -> cynically optimistic (does this even exist) -> elated -> relieved. The way God came through in “clutch-time” and turned things around simply adds to a LONG list of things He’s done in my thirty years on earth that make me know my faith in Him is FULLY justified.

One of the core biblical definitions of faith is “the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.” (Heb 11:1 NLT) Several sermon series have been preached on this singular verse, because there are so many layers and facets to the gem that it is. On a personal level, this verse has gone beyond being simply letters/words on a screen or page. It has become life for me.

I could write long stories of things that happened when I put my faith in God, but even they won’t do His results justice. Where do I even want to begin? Is it the fact that I’m still alive without any physical disability in spite of the hundreds (no jokes here) of injuries I have acquired in my life time? Like for real, imagine falling from about 10-feet and landing with your spine on a concrete skirting, and the only issue you had was the momentary jarring you felt all over your body. Or having a cement block wall drop and shatter on your 7 year old back, and you didn’t break any bones.

Then there are the stories of God coming through in ways that you know only He could have orchestrated things in that particular sequence and manner. For instance, in the second semester of my third year of undergrad, I was in a huge pickle through no fault of my own and needed to find an internship really quickly. I remember someone asked me “You’ve spent almost three months at home, that’s half of the allotted period! How are you going to make up for the time you’ve lost?” To paraphrase my reply “I don’t know, but I do know that if it’s that the lecturers will go on strike for me to complete my IT, then God will do it.” Three months after I finally began my internship, the lecturers went on a strike. The best part? The very week I completed the stipulated 24 weeks of internship was when the strike was called off. The story of how I got the internship itself? That’s another HUGE faith testimony on its own.

Then we come to the grad school and post grad school journey: getting admission, deferring, accepting a year later, struggling to make it to the US, struggling through the program, the job hunt after graduation, eventually getting a job. So many times when I had pretty much given up, always in the nick of time, God would come through. And He would do so in a manner that would leave no doubt in my mind that He was the one who had done it.

As someone who grew up as a scientist, in my personal decision making, logic and rationality rank very high. Through training, I’ve been able to strike a balance between rationalizing decisions and listening to my gut. But despite the import I place on logic, faith is the prime decision maker in my life. Because I have come to realize that only faith can walk paths where rationality and logic see towering waves. My faith isn’t perfect, it isn’t even “big” enough to move mountains yet, but ultimately, it’s not about me, it’s about whom I have the faith in.

So today, I’m thankful for faith in God; for keeping my head above the waves when they seemed to be overwhelming me.

Featured Image Source: smartandrelentless.com

