Let’s just imagine that the time’s actually 2pm on the 10th and not 2am on the 11th. I totally dropped the ball, mostly because I was traveling down to LA and I’ve sorta been concerned about whether my trip this weekend will still happen or not. So it’s actually no surprise about this post’s topic.

As usual, we begin with a little story. The first time I got on a plane, I was 23 years old. It was during my NYSC and I was going home for my eldest sister’s wedding. Travel, particularly by air, was something I always wanted to do, but never had the opportunity to for a long time. In the few years that followed I would travel a couple other times, eventually venturing outside Nigeria’s borders as well. By way of some unmerited favor, I got to go on two work related trips to Ghana and South Africa in a space of about 8 months. Both trips I shouldn’t have been considered for but ultimately was nominated to go on, all expenses paid. Loved both countries, I DEFINITELY have to go back.

Last summer, seeing as I had significant free time on my hands (having just graduated), and knowing that the earliest I could start a job (if I could find one) was late August, I decided to go on a trip. I visited a total of 5 cities over a 6 week period. Orlando for 11 days, Tampa for 10, Chicago for 14 days, Cambridge for 5 days, and Watertown for 4 days. It was AMAZING!!!!! Hanging with some of my best friends; dancing; doing touristy things; more dancing; being a part of a summer institute on energy and sustainability; making new acquaintances. *sigh* It was a blast, and I thoroughly wish I could do it all over again.

Since I moved out here to SF, I’ve been to LA twice (including right now). Within the next couple years, I plan on exploring the West Coast, the South and the Pacific Northwest (of the US), as well as some international locations (as soon as I can renew this annoying F-1 visa. Urgh!). The joys of being in a new place, meeting new people, trying out new things, and checking out new dance scenes are just amazing. And I’m grateful for the privilege I have to be able to plan and go on these trips.

So today, I’m thankful for wanderlust; and all the joys it brings.

Featured Image Source: www.browngirlsfly.com/

