I was hobbling around like an octogenarian all of today because of the awesomeness that was last weekend. I’m still on such a high, and obviously still physically in pain. *sigh* Things we do for the things we love.

Now, today’s post is actually one I should have written back in March/April, but I kept on procrastinating and well, the rest is history. I’m at least happy I get to incorporate it into this series. So yay! I guess. Lol.

Late last year, I decided I wasn’t happy with where my relationship with God was. It’s sort of been a yearly ritual for me at the end of the year to assess my life over the previous year and to look forward at the year ahead. One of the things I made up my mind to do was take my faith a LOT more seriously. One of the things that helped me do that, was music. It’s incredible how from about late November 2015 till the end of April 2016 there was more or less a “new” Hillsong song that spoke to my situation.

First it was Oceans (Where Feet May Fail), which helped me solidify my resolve to seek God more in 2016. It’s funny how it all began with me seeing a tweet with one line from the song, and then I quoted that tweet with the next line from the song, and someone else quoted my tweet with the line that followed. And we all generally remarked about how amazing the song was. That night, I listened to the song, and it was like I was hearing it for the first time. Literally all the words were speaking to me.

Then in mid January 2016, during the annual HMCC One Desire Fast over the weekend of our congregational revival, I encountered God in a pretty real way. His message was simply one word “Surrender”. Which wasn’t too surprising, considering I had determined on January 1 that I had only one New Year Resolution (I never have those), basically to let go and let God do His work in my life. The song that spoke to me, and still does till this very day is I Surrender. Only God knows how many times I watched this video. Only God knows how many times this song encouraged me to not give up. To daily surrender my will and desires and frustrations and anger to God. I still fail at this often, but I’m not giving up.

In February there was Christ Is Enough, Good Good Father which basically had me constantly reminding myself that if nothing worked out the way I wanted, that Christ really was all I needed. And that, all I needed to do was believe that God was a good Father, and that He loved me; so everything would ultimately work out. Several days when I was home alone, I would sing With Everything with everything in me. I may not sing it out loud as much now, but I definitely scream it out loud in my head. Lol.

When I hit a HUGE low in March (after completing the interview process over a two month period and the company finally said “No”) there was Here Now, where literally EVERY SINGLE word spoke to how my heart was feeling at the time. Prince of Peace was also a source of comfort. But really, till today Here Now still gives me goosebumps and takes me to a place where I know God really is with me. Like, there’s no doubt in my mind that it was the Holy Spirit that inspired the writing of that song.

When things finally got sorted out in April, Yahweh was the one that captured what my heart really needed to say. This video in particular, because of the intro by the pastor, blew my mind so much. It’s a very short message, only about 5 minutes long, but it’s so powerful.

So today, I’m thankful for music; for its ability lift me out of dark places, and to connect my soul to God.

Featured Image Source: whenmusicisforever.files.wordpress.com

