So I wrote my last final yesterday and officially ended my first year of grad school. Went to dinner with my church nuclear family, Impact, the life group for grad students. Came home after that and all I’ve done in the last two and a half hours is catch up on Suits and chat with friends. Oh shoot, I didn’t even do my standard introduction. Wonder when I became so ill mannered? Well if y’all don’t like it sue me. (See what I did there?)

Anyways, so I don’t know if I should write about the journey so far, but I will say this, a LOT has changed since August 20th, 2013 when I set foot on US soil for the first time. Some of it’s been incredibly good, some of it’s been terribly bad. But even in the bad, the silver lining of God’s amazing grace and mercy always shines through. 

Even though I didn’t post here during Lent like I said I would (not like that’s new or anything), I did think a lot about the Letters to my Father series I said I would put up. I should begin that in a couple days. 

So, my summer holiday has officially begun. I get to read a ton (I’m so sad I’m almost done with The Malazan Book of the Fallen), watch a ton of movies and anime, and just do lots and lots of fun stuff. I’m going to be staying here in sunny Ann Arbor (loool. That’s a joke, trust me. After 6 months of winter, that’s a huge joke) to do research with a couple of professors looking at sustainable manufacturing in Africa. Although I don’t know how much I’m going to get paid in total, so long as it takes care of my living expenses I’ll be fine. The prospects the project has are immense, and doing all I can to see it get to the full fledged research project phase has me excited. Even though it means I’m still going to be doing a TON of reading, I don’t really mind. 

You’ve probably noticed how scattered this post is, well, I’ve also decided that I can’t keep acting all OCD and ish about my blogging or I won’t get anything done. So I’m going to try and write as it comes. I know I’ve said this severally in the past without much success. But the fact that I’m typing this in a new blog page not on Microsoft Word is a step out of my comfort zone. 

Speaking of stepping out of my comfort zone. I’ve been putting myself out there for like the past three weeks. With VERY minimal training I started going out for salsa night at two of the clubs in the area, and boy can I say it’s been AWESOME. First off I gotta say I’m jealous of how good those latino boys are. Never mind the els I’ve chopped; not a lot to be honest, but there’s one babe I know gave me ela cos I’m not good enough. I’ll show her though. By the end of this summer, I intend to be VERY good at salsa. I’ve become pretty decent at Bachata and passable at Merengue. The plan is to dance as good as all the South Americans I’ve come to identify as regulars in Habana and Bar Louie. 

In closing let me say this, summer looks like it’s going to be an awesome time. Having gotten the worst of Ann Arbor weather, I’m certainly looking forward to some awesome weather. There are soooo many activities and events that I also hear happen, coupled with the fact that a ton of my classmates and friends are going to be around. So, here’s to summer and the potential it has for greatness.

