So as I stared at the digits of the clock change from 23:59 31/07/2011 to 00:00 01/08/2011, I felt exactly what I knew I was going to feel, the same thing I’ve always felt as I enter into a new birth year…nothing. BUT, there’s a difference with this birthday. Now, more than at any other point in my life I have decided that for the first week after my birthday, I will take a little time out to sit down and actually look at the relatively short period I have spent on this terrestrial sphere. This post is my way of saying thank you to God and to everybody who’s been a part of my life till date, especially the people I have met (both physically and in cyberspace) within the last one year.

Wow, I’m finally 25, mehn I don old o (all you hissing and saying “pschew! He’s even a small boy” I see you o…ehen), and I am extremely grateful to God that I’m alive. I’m also grateful for who I am today, even with all my failings and shortcomings; because I realise that I’m still a work in progress and I will continue to be till I take my last breath.

There are days I think about who my 10 year old thought he would be at 25 and I laugh. He wouldn’t exactly be disappointed, neither would he be “running on water” excited; but he would be sligthly proud. I may have fallen short of some of the goals (whether realistic or not) I set for myself as a kid, but I dare say I haven’t done too shabbily. I did study Physics. I may have fallen short of a First Class, but at least my mental accoutrements were never questioned; neither my peers nor my lecturers. I may have veered off the original path to join the train to the final frontier (space), but my new found vision is no less lofty nor challenging and ultimately even more noble (yes I’m a dreamer, if you don’t like it…yiwosoun ko de park daada).

Firstly I want to thank God for my family. It may isn’t the best family in the world, not by a long shot. Growing up, there were times I wished I wasn’t part of it. Even now there are times when I’m literally driven up the wall (at least I go upstairs to my room), but I still love them. Let’s face it, I wouldn’t be who I am today but for them, especially my father and my brother. Sanusi if you’re reading this…I love you mehn (I dare anybody to speak d synonym of happy)

Next I want to thank God for friends, not simply people I know or who know me, not acquaintances…but friends. I have been blessed with some of the greatest friends anybody could wish for. I have had friends that were closer than my family, taking my crap without complaining; telling me what I needed to hear, not what I wanted to hear; and just being there for me whenever I needed them. To all my friends…I repeat…FRIENDS…God bless you beyond your wildest dreams.

Finally, I wanna thank God for everybody I have ever come in contact with. To those who mentored me deliberately or otherwise; to those who impacted me positively, and those who did so negatively; to all those who through some little interaction have deposited parts of themselves in me; You all have played a part in the integral of many parts that is the person I am today. And for this I am grateful. May God richly reward you.

It’s funny how so much can change in one year. I look back on this date last year and all that’s happened within then and now all I can do is thank God. I began working in Grange and became in one session a ‘big brother” teacher; one quite a lot of students look up to. I joined twitter and my social life (at least in cyberspace n to a certain extent in real life) changed for the better. I became a Crackberry junkie (not exactly a good thing right…oh well *shrug*). I started a blog (as in see me feeling like a “soup or star”). Generally, my life’s been going from one hilltop to another, and I know it’s only been by God’s grace.

I guess I should wrap it up here. I have a lot to be thankful for. A LOT!!! My life’s far from perfect…hey, whose is anyways. But today, as all the mentions, wall posts, messages, pings, SMSs, and phone calls kept rolling in (omo e reach one time my phone hot, it hung several times gan) it made me understand that in my own little way, I’ve been a blessing to some people and that I am loved (even if you yimu, it cannot change it,,,ntoin). Because nothing beats knowing that you mean something to somebody, regardless of how little it is. I’ma keep being me and keep striving to be that “me” God sees when He looks at me.

Thanks for reading this “unusual” post. I guess I just needed to do this. Sorry for the length tho, it is kinda long for simply a thank you.

